Asbestos Information

The State and Federal Asbestos regulations apply to all existing public and commercial
buildings. Once a building has been used as a commercial or public building, the
asbestos rules apply for as long as the building stands, even if a commercial building is
converted into a dwelling. The only buildings that are exempt are residential structures
with four-dwelling units or less; however, if such buildings are being demolished for a
commercial purpose, such as clearing the land to build a commercial or public building,
then the asbestos rules do apply.

The Asbestos Division of the Texas Department of State Health Services (TDSHS) must
be notified prior to any renovation or demolition of a public or commercial building.

Furthermore, before any permits can be issued for any work to be done to these buildings,
an asbestos survey must be conducted by a state licensed inspector.

If the Asbestos Survey indicates that asbestos is not present...

If the results of this inspection indicate that there is no asbestos present, a copy of the
letter needs to be submitted with plans for work at time that permit is applied for, and any
contractor or the owner can conduct the work in accordance with all applicable state
laws.

If the Asbestos Survey indicates that asbestos is present...

If the results of the inspection indicate that asbestos is present, a state licensed asbestos
abatement contractor must be hired to remove the portions needed to conduct the work.
This inspection notice also must be submitted with the plans for the work along with the
information (name, address, phone number, license number) on the asbestos abatement
contractor that will be used, at the time that the permit is applied for.

Find a licensed inspector or abatement contractor at:
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/asbestos/whocan.shtm

Failure to have asbestos inspection conducted, to have any asbestos on site removed by a
state licensed asbestos abatement contractor, and the improper disposal of asbestos can
result in a fine up to $10,000.00 for each offense, by state law.

Further information is available by visiting the Texas Department of State Health
Services at http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/asbestos/default.shtm

Fines for violating the asbestos rules can be up to $10,000.00 per violation.




